The Great Escape

This is my entry to Round 2 – Heat 12  for the NYC Midnight Flash Fiction Challenge.

This was a really tough one for me, I ended round 1 with only 1 point so most likely not moving on but what doesn’t kill you only makes you regret ever doing it in the first place. I’m pretty sure that’s how the saying goes.

The Great Escape

Two toys find what they are looking for while on the run.

Whomp!

It was late at night in the Miss Karin Day School when I heard it. Not necessarily a crash, but something.

I looked at my team, they all stood with their backs to me, upset by my repeated escape attempts. They couldn’t understand my motives and I didn’t understand their nervelessness. Being the most popular toy wasn’t all it was cracked up to be.

I approached the edge cautiously and peered over.  Pretty Paula blinked up at me.

“What are you doing?” I called down.

She used her hand to prop up her head. “I’m running away with you.”

“What am I, the circus?”

“Look I heard you, spending all those nights planning. You needed someone to give you a kick. But I can’t kick you. You’re way up there.”

“Hold on, I’ll help you back up.”

I took the string I found in the toy box and tied it to one end of my Action Humvee.

When I reached her I said, “This is why I plan,” I shook my head. “What were you doing? Just jump and hope everything worked out?”

“Well, yeah.”

“That sounds like a really crappy plan.” I said helping her up. “Okay, now back up you go.” I said.

“Adam, I’m not going back up there. Come on, we’ll run away together,” she pulled on my sleeve.

“No,” I said, “we’ve got to get back on the shelf.”

“Adam, you spend your nights trying to escape. Come on, we’ll be free!”

She threw up her arms and spun around. Her head flopped and she fell.

“I’m a little top heavy,” She giggled.

“I’m not sure tonight’s the right night to go.”

“Of course it is,” she squealed running across the room. She tried a cartwheel but wobbled and fell down. I ran over to her.

“Are you okay?”

“My head’s packed full of fluff, guess cartwheels are out of the question.”

I helped her up, she smelled like tempera paint and play-dough, wonderful.

“You can let go now,” she said.

I looked down, my hands must have been faulty, the grip wouldn’t let go.

“Oh, sorry.” I said releasing her.

I looked down at my Action Boots then back up at her. Wow, she was pretty. I could see why she was so popular with the little girls. Black yarn hair, blue button eyes, red rosy cheeks, she was perfect.

“So what’s it going to be, Adam?”

I looked back over my shoulder, up at my team, they were watching now waiting for me to make my decision.

“Adam,” she said again.

I adjusted my Action Pack, waved to my friends, and ran with Paula to the window. It was cracked open a bit but I fit through just fine. I gave her the all clear and I saw her legs come through, then her body, followed by her arms, then she stopped.

“What’s the hold up?”

“My head is stuck.”

Perfect.

I climbed back up to her and sure enough her head was still inside the window while her body flailed outside. Since she went legs first her dress was up over her head. I didn’t peak. Well, I may have peaked a little.

With a little bit of cajoling we managed to get her unstuck.

“I can’t help but think this fluff is better served somewhere else.” She stood up, her head flopped to the side. She lost her balance and fell to the ground.

“Maybe my bottom?”

I laughed

“I guess I should take it easy.”

I nodded, “Come on, across the sandbox straight to the parking lot.”

“How do you know?”

“It’s on my Action Map.” I took my backpack off my shoulder and pulled out the map. “See?”

She put a hand on my arm as she studied the map with me.

“I don’t see it, but I trust you.” She placed a kiss on my cheek and I fell back on my butt.

“Is there something wrong with your legs?” She asked.

“No,” I mumbled getting back up.

“Well, we’ll go slowly just in case.”

Everything was fine until we got to the sandbox.

“Where are you and pretty legs going?” Freddie the Frog appeared out of nowhere, I would have been mad at him, if Paula hadn’t been so surprised by his sudden appearance that she jumped into my arms.

“What do you want, Freddie?” He was a big ugly green thing with a cigarette holder in his mouth, no cigarette, just the holder.

“You and your girlfriend trying to escape?”

“We are just seeing what’s on the other side.” I said.

“Nothing!” he shouted, “Nothing’s on the other side!”

“That’s not true,” Paula protested. “We’re getting out of here.”

“Why would you want to leave such a cushy job, Adam? You’re one of the most popular toys. And you, Paula, you’re a real doll.” Freddie shook his head.

“Shove off, Freddie.”

“You’ll never make it, Action Adam.”

I ignored him and we trudged on. It took a while, but we made it through the sandbox. Climbing over the edge I could see light peeking over the horizon.  The last obstacle was a chain-link fence. Paula again went legs first but her head got stuck.

“You go ahead, Adam, at least one of us will get out.”

“No,” I said crawling back through. I pushed and pushed but it was no use I couldn’t move her fluff-filled head.

“I was just made wrong I guess.” She traced a hand over the scars drawn on to my face. “It’s okay, this was your dream.”

“I would never have made it this far if it wasn’t for you, Paula,” I kissed her rosy cheek.

I sat down next to her and we watched the sunrise together.

“Goodness! What are these toys doing out here?” Miss Karin bent down and picked up the two toys from the ground. “If I didn’t know better I would have thought you two were trying to escape.”

Leave a Reply

