It’s because I’m black isn’t it?

Hello, everyone. It is another day in the life of a ranting lunatic so hold on.

Recently at work, I received a promotion. This promotion required a training period but since I was already doing the job I didn’t have to attend each and every minute of training and since the people in my training class were mostly straight out of college, and I was already established with the company I didn’t have to spend every waking day set up in temp housing with them.

My class consisted of about 13 people including myself, two white guys one black guy two other black women and the rest were white, well there was an Asia woman but for some reason I think they are socially more accepted than black people, don’t ask me why I think we are the only ones who are prosecuted but go figure, anyway after training and going to your prospective department/branch you automatically are promoted. You get promoted if you suck cause trust me there have been people around here who have sucked, and they get a promotion, not naming any names but everybody follow my eyes.

So I’ve checked, and all but two people from my training class have received a promotion. Would you like to guess who those people are?  Yes, you guessed it the two black women. Now I’m a little pissed about it. No no that’s not right I’m  a lot pissed about it, and I have no one to complain to so I’m complaining to you. It may not mean much to you, but it bugs the piss outta me.

Now don’t get me wrong I don’t think I got along with them all that well. It could because I’m a bitch, it could because I don’t get along with anyone, it could be that I thought they were sassy, and I think I’m the only one allowed to be sassy, it could be that I don’t appreciate other black women (something for some reason makes me think it’s this), or it could be that they just really suck at their job, and they aren’t going anywhere with the company. But I don’t think so.

I’m beginning to think my mother was right (DO NOT TELL HER I SAID THIS). I don’t think they are appreciated. I think the ‘sass’ that is typically associated with black women is erroneously thought of as something bad. Or maybe because we don’t sit demurely by or bat our eyes and look passively cute. We don’t do the same thing other people do. Everyone is different, the management of my company likes to remind me of that every day so I can ‘engage’ my team. It just feels like they should be reminded of that.

Leave a Reply

